Daily Archives: January 6, 2012

Yabu Katsu Craze!!!

One of my new discoveries lately is Yabu: House of Katsu in the Megamall Atrium. It’s this new Katsu place in Manila but what separates this not another Japanese joint is that 1) they specialize in Katsu, 2) it’s unbelievably SOFT and TENDER Katsu, and 3) it’s authentic yet affordable.

DSC_0902Lotsa sake. But we didn’t drink any. Will definitely try when I get back.

DSC_0903Potato salad and Wakame salad. We were served a couple of appetizers. The potato salad in Japanese mayo has that soft starchy taste in perfect medley with the tangy Japanese mayo. The Wakame (seaweed) salad is addicting. I can’t explain its taste but it’s savory.

DSC_0904Steamed Japanese string beans and Silken Tofu. Not their real menu names, I somehow deleted my note in my BB with the list of what I ate. But what I do remember is that the silken tofu is so soft in the tongue, unlike the common tofu we have in the local market.

DSC_0905Sesame sauce. This part of the dining experience is my second favorite (next to diving my teeth into the tender Kurobota tonkatsu!) They let us do our own sauce which starts with grinding the sesame seeds in a bowl. After grinding we pour the sweet sauce (which I didn’t have a photo of.) I love smelling the sesame seeds while grinding it.

DSC_0906

DSC_0909

DSC_0910And the main show — I ordered the Kurobota Tonkatsu or the Premium Meat Set. The set comes with the tonkatsu, a generous helping of salad with sesame sauce (which you can ask for more), a bowl of rice, miso soup and fruits. They claim you can slice the meat using your chopsticks – and yes, it’s true!

DSC_0911

DSC_0912

One thing I love most about this place is how they do the meat. I settled for non less than Kurobota – the meat is darker, fattier and more tender, and for me, JUST FOR ME, it’s better without the sauce. Toff, who’s my seatmate that night, even called me  a meat purist – which is partly true. There are certain dishes that I love with a sauce, and there are those I don’t want any. Just meat and my teeth into it.

DSC_0913With Jim, Cacai, Miko, Kaye, and Toff

DSC_0916

Thanks to Yabu Manager, Mr. Mon for accommodating us

DSC_0918We were served a dessert called Lava a la Mode. Not really my favorite, but it was okay. I was in Katsu hangover when I started digging this. Haha!

DSC_0920Cacai, Jim, Moi, Pao, Kaye, Miko, Yabu brand manager, Verge, Lawryeng, and Toff

DSC_0922

DSC_0923Stereotyped tee, Adidas Ateneo jacket, F&H distressed denims, Punchdrunk Panda Negatives plimsolls.

Was really tamad to dress up, but I think this one worked out just as fine. It was a blue day, I guess. But my tummy ain’t blue :P

Yabu: House of Katsu
Megamall Atrium 2/F
(02) 576 3900
Facebook | Twitter

Holiday Break Photodiary

Met up with Moonleaf Planner winner
DSC_0890

DSC_0888

DSC_0887

DSC_0886

DSC_0884Everyone, meet Zeti and her le boyf :)

Dinner at Yabu with blogger friends! Review coming up :)
DSC_0921Thank you Connect Agency and Yabu!

New Year’s Eve
DSC_0926Nopi, our dog (don’t ask about the name), was running in circles while biting its tail the whole time there was fireworks. HAHA!

DSC_0928

DSC_0930We don’t do fireworks. We love the environment and more food on the table. But we enjoy watching ’em

DSC_0940

DSC_0941

DSC_0943

DSC_0945

DSC_0947

DSC_0954

DSC_0955

DSC_0964Looks like Hyper Beam in Pokemon. Or is it just me? HAHA!

DSC_0972

DSC_0975

DSC_0976

DSC_0979

DSC_0981

DSC_1007

DSC_1008

DSC_1015

My niece Akira’s binyag at Barosain Church in Malolos.
DSC_1021

DSC_1023

DSC_1026
LOL at that face!

DSC_1027

DSC_1034

It’s a happy 2012 alright! :)

PdP Christmas Fartee!

DSC_0223PdP gave me the sweetest gift! *pun intended*

DSC_0228

DSC_0229

DSC_0232Pistachio

DSC_0233

DSC_0236One orgasmic sigh

DSC_0237

DSC_0238

DSC_0239

DSC_0242

DSC_0243

DSC_0244

DSC_0245

DSC_0247

DSC_0248

DSC_0249

DSC_0251What happened to panda?! LOL!

DSC_0255

DSC_0258

DSC_0259

DSC_0261

DSC_0263

DSC_0264

I miss the PdP team :|

unFURgivable

A campaign by STRIP: Ministry of Waxing Manila for PETA: A photo exhibit by Miguel Miranda and a fashion show by Wanderlust

It’s just so fab! Happening on January 12, 9pm at Prive, The Fort! I’ll see you there, yes?

#itsmorefuninthephilippines

Earlier this day DOT announced its newest campaign to boost tourism in the country. Introducing #ItsMoreFunInThePhilippines! There’s a lot to like about the current DOT admin now, and one of them is employing really GOOD graphic artists! Don’t you like the campaign materials? Check out the logo below —

The logo for the country's newest tourism slogan, "It's more fun in the Philippines," features a pixelized version of the Philippine map. Photo from itsmorefuninthephilippines.com

Also, it makes heavy use of social media which makes it participative. Everyone is invited to promote the Philippines, everyone has the chance to contribute. Make this hashtag #itsmorefuninthephilippines trend worldwide by tweeting why it is indeed more fun in the Philippines! Be creative: tweet your favorite photos, videos, statements that are uniquely Filipino. With social media, who knows what heights the Philippine tourism can take!