Daily Archives: November 5, 2011

Subspace Coffee House

It’s not everyday that you stay in a coffee shop. I mean, yes, it can be a lifestyle on its own, but face it – it’s an expensive one. Though, every once in a while, everyone needs a breather from the workplace and may be in need for a coffee shop to work at. For me, it needs not to have the greatest tasting coffee, or the fastest wi-fi (though sometimes I insist that, internet should be non-negotiably lightning FAST) but it has to spark your creativity. It has to inspire. It has to kickstart your rather rusty engine and get you up and running about.

DSC_0561Inspiration overload

DSC_0612

DSC_0551Wooden chairs for chandeliers. I don’t mind at all.

DSC_0552

DSC_0613

MY CHILDHOOD!!!!

DSC_0614

DSC_0616

Enter Subspace Coffee House, the vintage-overloaded, out-of-the-box concept cafe located at the former Emerald avenue in Ortigas Center.

DSC_0553Vintage pieces gathered by Thor, the owner, from around the country and beyond (Outerspace? LOL!)

DSC_0554

DSC_0555Sweet nothings

DSC_0557

DSC_0558

Everything just seems so well put in this place. Even menus are highly aligned to the aesthetic of the whole store, too. I didn’t get to try some food and drinks though. Maybe next time. Purple Potato Latte and Peanut Butter Latte sounds very intriguing…

DSC_0560EVE says hello by the counter. S/he may take your orders too, LOL!

DSC_0563

DSC_0564

DSC_0565

If this place doesn’t give you even a hint of inspiration, then I don’t know what else would do. Take a look around the cafe (it’s not that big, anyway) and you’ll notice how the interiors alone redefine the cafe experience! The inspiration for this, so I read from blogs, is the rich and dynamically growing aesthetic of Seoul in South Korea. Arriane, a self-professed SoKor junkie confessed that cafes like this can be found in every corner in Seoul! I died in total and instantaneous envy! I can’t believe how we lack these kind of edgy-looking places here in the Philippines!

DSC_0567

DSC_0568

DSC_0580

DSC_0589

DSC_0595

DSC_0604

Sharing time: I don’t know if I told you already, but I have this kind of repulse over K-pop. However I suddenly realized it becomes bearable to listen to it when faced with overly design-indulgent interior pieces. Plus, I get to “appreciate” the foreign songs just a little bit. HAHA! #stillnotintoit #butnolongerhating

DSC_0615

DSC_0587

DSC_0591Thor + space crew

DSC_0598

DSC_0603Remember that we did our bloggers preview here? It’s such a nice memory to look back to.

 DSC_0610

Everyone is happy :D

DSC_0582…even Panda!

I shall let the photos speak more for themselves. And oh, a mental note for everyone to visit their furniture store, Space Encounters next door.

Subspace Coffee House
Unit 103, G/F Grand Emerald Tower
F. Ortigas Jr. Rd, Ortigas Center, Pasig City
subspacecoffee@gmail.com | 655 7077
Mon – Sat 8am – 11pm