Daily Archives: December 28, 2011

Bicol Day 1

So you all know that I was invited to Legazpi City to talk about blogging and social media. My talk was scheduled at 16th, but I decided to go a day before to meet my friend Franzy and go tour around town.

DSC_0706

I arrived at the city just in time for the opening of the workshop. I dropped by first to say hello to the organizers and I also met some of the other speakers. I was dead nervous to see all the students who would listen to me the next day.

DSC_0708Grace Imperial from Divine Word College hosted the event

DSC_0712

The Workshop was graced by seasoned author and proud advocate of the Bicol language, Mr. Abdon “Jun” Balde, Jr. He recited to the audience a poem he made titled, “It’s A Weird Wired World” The original was in Bicolano but I thankfully, Mr. Jun posted a Tagalog version in his Facebook account! I rarely like poems but this one’s too witty and funny to pass!

DSC_0714

DSC_0715

Franzy and I met up around lunch. We left the workshop and headed straight to Embarcadero. It’s a mall beside the sea and seems appropriate also that boats dock in this area, hence the name of the mall. If I remember accurately, some time in December last year I found myself beside the sea also.

DSC_0718First meal in Bicol was in Biggs Diner in Embarcadero

DSC_0719

DSC_0720Pop-vintage diner. Reminds me of 50’s Diner in Baguio City

DSC_0729

DSC_0721

DSC_0722Tocilog

DSC_0723Bigg meal (pun intended :P)

DSC_0725Rex Clothing cross tee, Thrifted gray denim jacket, Oxygen reversible jeans, Punchdrunk Panda Negatives plimsolls, Bags of Love UK leather holdall, Speedo square frames

DSC_0726

DSC_0730The clouds were affirming it was a good day. I love clouds!

DSC_0731Literally beside the mountain

DSC_0732Clouds

DSC_0733There’s a go kart arena but we were too lazy to try

DSC_0735Walked this road

DSC_0737And stopped by for a very vain photo haha

DSC_0741MORE CLOUDS!!

DSC_0743

DSC_0745Was tired and hungry again, so we went to Bikol Blends to chill

DSC_0746

DSC_0748

DSC_0749

DSC_0750The place has impeccable service, and the fastest wi-fi in Legazpi, maybe…

DSC_0751

DSC_0752

DSC_0753

DSC_0754

DSC_0756Tried out Sili Ice Cream! Contrary to popular belief, this one is not so spicy – it lingers on creamy side and releases the spicy sting on the throat, not on the tongue.

Was practically sleepless and tired so we opted not to go around that much. More of my Bicol trip in my next posts!!!