Norwegian morning Wood

Pardon the title, hihi. But if you watched this film, I think you pretty much know it’s appropriate. Heh.


But I’ve been hearing a lot since Norwegian Wood was released last year. I purposely scheduled myself to watch it, but everytime I had a chance to, something would come up or I’d be diverted to another film (yes, friends, the pains of being a self-diagnosed ADHD kid.)

When finally I sat down to watch it, thanks to the single best gift of internet – torrent, I had to divide watching it into three nights. I deny that it was from boredom but I think it was because the storytelling was so intensely peaceful and chaotic all at the same time. I had become tired of feeling and thinking alternately and what had become of my consciousness is not a result of the slow pacing, others may have described boring, and what is to me carefully calculated filmmaking.

I have not watched much films to compare or to even prove that this film is good, but what I do know is that it speaks – one thing I always look for in a film. Not necessarily to relate but I need a film to speak – to me or for me – to be able to come across a barrier and finally inject – an inception – the idea, the story, the moral. Norwegian Wood in every touch point, for me, managed to speak to my soul, that thinking and feeling happen at the same time and renders one tired.

If it’s boredom, I think, I wouldn’t even have the slightest wakefulness to last this review.

Leave a Reply

