Blue Crystal Beach Resort and Palangan Beach

DSC_0531I need this hammock in my life

DSC_0506

So we continue with my Puerto Galera trip last Holy Week. This isn’t the hotel that was in our itinerary, but I think this is better than the one we officially planned. I won’t mention the place anymore, but we were totally mistaken. We even have an inside joke, Gullible’s Travels, because the one who booked that other hotel didn’t even ask for amenities, and nearby establishments. And we were so quick to believe that we didn’t even cross-check. It was an almost flop, but thanks to the powers of internet, things were reversed in no time, in an expense of an unnecessary boat ride, and we were really so glad we chose this place.

DSC_0507

We stayed only for a night at Blue Crystal Beach Resort at Palangan Beach, one of the smaller, and lesser known beaches in Puerto Galera. We only planned to stay there, and go around the island, but the place really proves to be magnetic… if it weren’t for our determination to see the popular beaches, we couldn’t have moved our asses and just stayed here. You will have it linger in you, this place.

DSC_0526

DSC_0524

So, Blue Crystal is at the uphill side of Puerto Galera. You have to drop off at Muelle Pier and ride a tricycle to Palangan. Once you see the Grecian-inspired architecture, you may hail the driver to stop. Pay no more than P100, as we were advised. I’ve been told that some drivers really abuse the tourists, which is really bad. You have to do your research to avoid this.

DSC_0525THIS WE HAVEN’T TRIED. But they have an excellent cook, really, so it must be a treat!

DSC_0508

DSC_0510

We were too excited to look around, and look what we’ve found, a very serene beach side… We actually have it to ourselves.

DSC_0511Neighbors! Humiling ka na sa langit na sana may afam dyan, lolz

DSC_0512

DSC_0513

There are around 16 rooms in this resort, and a night’s worth of stay includes an air-conditioned room, breakfast, hot and cold shower, unlimited use of internet, unlimited use of pool, that amazing beach side, and a happy crew at your service. They also offer inland and island tours for around P2,400 for three people, you do the math, or just ask at the concierge to avail of this. Other activities like diving and snorkeling are also offered, but I can’t remember how much :P

DSC_0528

DSC_0533Bring your vball and you can play here, just watch it for the beach

DSC_0676

The dining hall is at the third floor and this greets you in the morning literally. What a good view to wake up for! The place is so windy also, I can just have the perfect time with a cup of joe in one hand and a book in another! Or the perfect view/atmosphere/food to nurse a Mindoro Sling hangover!

DSC_0677

DSC_0678

DSC_0679

Kiddie pancake set. This must have been the whole box of  pancake mix, it’s so big.

Filipino breakfast set

Complains regarding hotels are usually about the free breakfast. Either there were little servings, or the food’s bad at all. We were lucky enough because we didn’t even have to worry about it. Breakfast was scrumptious and generous. You can choose from American, Filipino, Continental, or Kiddie breakfast sets and have your choice of coffee, chilled fruit juice or fresh fruit.

DSC_0515

DSC_0517

DSC_0518

DSC_0519

DSC_0520I’m not usually iffy with bathrooms, so yeah, this works. All I need is hot shower and I’m a happy camper

DSC_0522

DSC_0523

I haven’t even started with the room! It’s spacious enough and because we were three in the group, they had to add an additional bed for me. There’s no additional charge with that. I haven’t mentioned also, that a room costs — are you ready?! — PhP 900/guest/night and that includes all the amenities that I’ve discussed earlier. It’s just P300 above the backpacker’s inn I was trying to locate at Sabang! I don’t know about you, but this… is a treat already!

DSC_0529

DSC_0530

DSC_0532

The place has an impeccable environment, we did an impromptu mini-photo shoot around the area, and I just love the sun, the backdrop that is the mountains and the oceans, and my models! I’m a happy photographer :)

DSC_0534

DSC_0535

DSC_0536I dare not show my upper body, this is only a trial, hahahaha, errrr

DSC_0537ANSAVE NG POSE?!

DSC_0538

DSC_0542This one’s my favorite. Model: The Jen Aquino

DSC_0543

DSC_0546

DSC_0547

DSC_0548

DSC_0549Friendship forever!

DSC_0550

DSC_0551

DSC_0555

DSC_0563

DSC_0564

DSC_0566

DSC_0567

DSC_0568

DSC_0570We were trying to get Sheng to do a flip-hair photo. But this what we’ve got! Haha!

DSC_0572

DSC_0573

DSC_0574

DSC_0577Trying out a Mangyan headband. I love the colors!

DSC_0676

DSC_0680

DSC_0681

DSC_0682

DSC_0683

Swimming in the beach is fun, but the waves were kinda strong those days that we stayed. It was a bit rocky, and you have to kinda walk to the other side for the sandy part of the beach. Nevertheless, I love how clean the waters at this side of Galera is. White Beach has already been abused, and this one is really your little secret hideaway from all the party and noise of the popular beaches.

DSC_0684

DSC_0516Special thanks to Ms. Roselyn who really took care of us!

When we were there, we were so determined to see the other beaches, so we rented tricycles to get us to them. Standard pricing is P300, but we haggled up until P250. I should note also that although I’ve been telling that stories of rip offs are rampant, there will always be honest people in this side of the planet. We didn’t notice that we paid P50 more unintentionally, and the driver was too glad to return it to us. Say hi to Albrex for us who brought and fetched us throughout the island, if you’re staying there!

Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Palangan Beach, Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro
www.bluecrystalbeachresort.com

bluecrystal@cc9.ne.jp
+63 43 287 3144
+63 915 223 6067

6 responses to “Blue Crystal Beach Resort and Palangan Beach

  1. nice photos, jonver! last time i was in galera was 2006 pa yata. na-enganyo naman akong bumalik ng galera. didnt know na may ganito ka-pretty yet affordable resort doon. :)

    oh, and now you’ve got me craving for pancakes. arrrggghhh!

    cheers to summer 2012! ;)

    • AKO DIN NAENGGANYO BUMALIK NUNG GINAGAWA KO YUNG POST! Tumatravel blogger lang, try ko lang, tsar! Grabe lang yung kwento ng trip na yan! Pero buti nahanap namen tong griyegong lugar na ito!

  2. Hi Jonver,

    Very thankful of your helpful post here. We are planning to go there few days from now and so I’m searching for some blogs and I got yours…Thanks! This will surely help:)

    By the way, what resorts have you visited nearby? Yun kay Kuya Albrex – the honest driver?

    • Hey, I’m glad my post helped. And Albrex… I hope you have him as your driver, he’s really nice. He’s friends with the hotel we stayed at. Plus we didn’t visit any other resort so on that matter, I guess, I can’t help you out :(

  3. Hi there!

    I must agree that most are abusing tourists.. No I know how much we’ll pay for the transportation there. BTW, we will be staying at white beach, the ferry will go straight there right? Thanks for your detailed tour! :)

    • Yepp, Timmy! The boats will be stopping right at White Beach before Muelle Pier. And I hope *some* Filipinos stop hassling tourists, Manileños and foreigners alike. Hey if you’re up for some more travel, I have some tips over at my new space as well — http://blog.jonverdavid.com. This is actually my old one but I’m keeping it since three years worth of adventure is still here :)

Leave a Reply

