You call that a guide?

We ordered the Beef Pepper Steak with Mashed Potato (P280) in Hiyas Bar. The meat was yucky and rubbery — I don’t even want to ask where they source their beef. – Puerto Galera’s White Beach Guide 2012: Where to Stay and What to Eat, Our Awesome Planet

This is just an excerpt about OAP’s guide to White Beach in Puerto Galera that I was reading in preparation to my trip tomorrow. I encourage you to click that link and read it. And do not read after this paragraph until you’ve done so. I want you to have a clear cut view of why I have given a comment like what you will read after this.

As lifted from my original comment in the post: Why do I feel like you didn’t do your research well and besides have featured the so-so part of Puerto Galera? There are more stories that I have read… especially on the places to stay at, and eat at. This isn’t helping our local tourism. I hope you avoid using the words “it’s better if you lowered your expectation” because really what are you trying to achieve in this kind of blogging?

Are you proving that you are far more superior than that of you consumed? Then why didn’t you check in the best places in Galera (excuse me, gaylera may have been existent but you should’ve known that this is so derogative.) I guess you know TripAdvisor and even friends may have recommended a good place.

I am sorry, but I may be mad but I just think that you could’ve done better and may have seen the beauty in Galera if it weren’t for your own choices.

I am in no way to dictate anyone’s blogging. But I plead to all bloggers to choose your words. And do your research!

***

Please correct me if I have wronged him in this comment, because clearly if I put myself on a Galeran’s shoes, I’d be offended. Especially with the use of Gaylera reference which I deem derogatory. And also, the rampant backlash on the local bars and pubs – I mean, what is he trying to prove? Research in his part could’ve given him a better experience, but it was his own choices that led him into having what he had.

This could’ve been blogged in a helpful way. Words could’ve been chosen wisely.

Blog responsibly everyone!

3 responses to “You call that a guide?

  1. Maybe if the title of the post isn’t ‘Puerto Galera’s White Beach Guide 2012: Where to Stay and What to Eat’ it would’ve been okay to rant with the bad quality of food.

    But I do understand that as a food blogger he should not sugar coat the review, if the food / service is bad then it’s alright to rant about it. But then again I think this is a special case, since it’s not only the Hiyas Bar that will be affected by this negative write up.

    Just my two cents.

    • Again, I am not one to dictate his blogging style. But I still stand that his choice of words and lack of research was the cause of his dismay and not Puerto Galera itself. The tone of his blog post directly hits Puerto Galera and its totality and not the miniscule choices he made.

  2. Pingback: White Beach, Puerto Galera | Where is Jonver??

Leave a Reply

