Pre-birthday Dinner at Adarna

DSC_0917

The Jen Aquino never fails to surprise me every year. Can’t emphasize more that she really spoils me. Thanks girl, for this. Oh, excuse the smile *wide grin*

DSC_0918

DSC_0920

DSC_0921

DSC_0922

Dinner at Adarna was planned though. But still there are more surprises ahead of dinner. We originally planned to go to Makati for Little Tokyo, but then again Adarna  is just near, and we were just around QC for the whole night. Will not regret dining here though.

DSC_0923Eating with this as background, I feel like I’m in a 19th century Baluarte.

DSC_0925You can never grow bored with this girl. There’s just too much happiness (and gayness) in her.

DSC_0926

DSC_0924

I’ll start with telling everyone that Adarna doesn’t taste usual. But it’s tricky how it’s so pleasant to my taste buds. Take this Pinapaitan soup for example. I don’t usually see this in the soup portion of the menu of other restaurants. The usual bitter bile taste of this dish was mellowed by a little sweetness and a bit more spice (I was too happy to identify what makes) and it just tasted extra special. Jen was skeptical when I ordered this, but she was the one who almost finished her bowl!

DSC_0927

I was really in a mood for sinigang, so when I saw Siningang na Sugpo in the menu, I instantly shrieked silently in excitement. My parotid glands were so ready for the tangy sour tamarind, when a less familiar taste hit the throat. Kamias was definitely used for this dish. I got a little disappointed because I was so ready for the sampaloc, but just little and I really had no time to  sull. With the shrimp and kamias fighting for my attention, how can I? Another thing I liked about it is how the shrimp almost disintegrates in the soup – proof how painstakingly slow it was cooked.

DSC_0928

Jen ordered the Leyte Humba which really reminds me of my family’s Estofado (what with the sweet and salty taste and fried saba.) It was good but I beg this dish to forgive me because all I really can think about was the Sinigang haha.

DSC_0929

This one’s helluva birthday drink! Felicidad will really bring the happiness in you – rhum, cream, milk, eggs and vanilla swimming in ice! My dining partner didn’t like the adventure in this one, but it sure brought me happy vibes. I’ll probably can go back here for this alone. And probably ask to add more rhum though :P

DSC_0931

This chocolate cake was given on the house by Chef Giney of Adarna. Awwwww, I was so touched that I couldn’t help myself from shrieking and looking around for Chef to hug her. She’s just so sweet!!! And this too – in perfect contrast with the mango jam (I can’t describe it haha)

DSC_0932

And Jen, being competitive, got me salted caramel ice cream. Ah the perks of being a birthday boy/gay. Haha! All I can say with this scoop of salted happiness is that I know for myself it’s homemade!!!

DSC_0933

DSC_0934

If anything, Beth Angsioco greeting me personally for my birthday was a real treat also! Sucha fanboy here, sarreh! Can’t wait for my next Adarna dinner!

Adarna Food and Culture
119 Kalayaan Ave., Quezon City
926-8712; +639179618113
Menu |Facebook | Twitter 

One response to “Pre-birthday Dinner at Adarna

  1. Pingback: PANTY MONSTERS QUERIDA // BIRTHDAY SALUBONG | Where is Jonver??

Leave a Reply

