Just got inked!

So my birthday dinner with the fam bam just ended but I still have birthday things going on until the end of next week. And while I am currently lost where and how to start telling you guys how my birthday week went, I think I’ll start with this one.

DSC_0890

DSC_0892

DSC_0893

I know these kind of decisions needs some sort of plan or thinking – or more thinking for that matter; but believe me, for us – Pat and I, all we need was alcohol, sisig, and all the bullshit in life (haha ang emo, kay?) It was all spontaneous, we were drinking and talking about our usual shit on love, when there were bored stares across Tomato Kick and that familiar tattoo shop stood still, where at its doors we once told we’re gonna get inked ourselves.

DSC_0895

xDSC_0898

DSC_0900

DSC_0902

Finally, the bored words came out of my mouth. But knowing me, it was probably just thinking out loud. And knowing my friend, there’s no way out of this. It was a spur of the moment. It was a now-or-never kind of thing.

DSC_0905

DSC_0907

DSC_0911

DSC_0913

DSC_0914

Noone gets to judge me, heh.

DSC_0365

Not really that I do not want to, to explain my hesitance . In fact, I wanted it so badly. I pride myself for having a high pain threshold, so it’s not the fear of needles. It was just so sudden, I think. And while I’m a fan of spontaneity, I think it’s very different from this suddenness. Actually, it’s not my strongest suit to boot (I don’t know if I have the face to blog about it, but meh that’s another post.)

DSC_0369

DSC_0371A tattoo artist’s happy art set

DSC_0372

So off we go to 55TINTA and after a few papers to sign, we’re good to go. Pat, usually the braver of us two, went first. Pwede ko ring sabihing gentleman ako, at pinairal ko ang ladies first, but who would believe me, really? Haha!

DSC_0375The room smells so antiseptic. Reminds me of the hospital.

DSC_0377

DSC_0378

DSC_0379

DSC_0381

DSC_0383

Pat had the word Might inked on her shoulder. Might is a very strong word, meaning both strength and possibilities. Now might is in Pat’s shoulders.

DSC_0384Uh, excuse the thighs.

DSC_0388

And mine’s a red shadeless triangle. I really haven’t thought why I want a triangle. Unlike Pat, I really did not put much thought on what to get myself though I have been contemplating this triangle for quite some time. And before you drop the h-word, please know that it’s not my me. I think I just like the shape, and am fascinated how it points up.

DSC_0390And there I was reminded of my college practice injections. Oh how grateful I am I know what is the feeling of being pricked.

DSC_0391

DSC_0392

DSC_0394

DSC_0395

As I couldn’t turn my head on a full 180 and I wanted my tattoo on the upper back or nape portion, I asked Pat to position my tattoo for me. She came up with the witty idea of leaving the tip exposed when I’m wearing a shirt….

DSC_0399

…something just dawned in me. Most people only get to see me in the surface. And in order for someone to really know me, they have to scratch the surface and strip me. Good call on that, ain’t it?

DSC_0400

I really have a long emotional narrative, but I think I’ll keep that thought for a while. For now, I really love my tat and am kinda contemplating if I’ll have one more. Where should I have it kaya? Hmmmmmmmmmmmm… Where’d you put yours?

55Tinta
55 Magingawa st. Teacher’s Village
Diliman, Quezon City
024353383 | 09088733871
Facebook | Twitter

Leave a Reply

