Raffles Design Institute – Manila

DSC_0208

First off, forgive me. Yes this is very last week pa. But am really swamped with work and some other issues along the side. What is good now is I’m so ready to share to you Raffles Design Institiute – Manila! I really do not want to give just a couple of minutes for this, but I want to be able to impart to you this humble institution with a glorious international boast-worthy history.

DSC_0202With Miko, Kaye, Erika, and Lawryeng

DSC_0203LARGE BRANDS up for internship. I just say WOW

DSC_0204

DSC_0205

I’d rather not bore you with the slide photos, would I? Raffles, as I fondly call it, is an international design institute offering world-recognized courses and degrees – Fashion Design, Fashion Marketing and Management, Interior Design, and Visual Communication. What really tickles my fancy is that after taking your subjects at this campus, you have an option to continue it ELSEWHERE in its other 37 colleges in 36 cities across 14 countries! Get all that WITH assistance from the management. Now how is that for a college education to look forward to!

DSC_0207

Well above is a slide of just SOME of their affiliates that you can get an internship at. I wish I had gotten an opportunity to intern at Swatch or Zara when I was in college (but yeah, I’m in nursing school, what was I thinking LOL!) But seriously, if I’d be given a chance to study again, then maybe I’d rethink my choices.

DSC_0209Moi, Miko, Kaye, Erika, Arnie

DSC_0210

DSC_0211

DSC_0212

DSC_0213

We had a quick tour of their floors at Accralaw building in The Fort, Global City. Picture above is their library. Get that – a library stockful of magazines! I wonder if they have Fantastic Man? :D

DSC_0214

DSC_0215

DSC_0217

The study lounge is a conducive space for the students to study. Think tank, it is! I’d kill for my college to have one of these for the nursing department. Damn!

DSC_0218

DSC_0219

Interior Design students would find this room suitable to their plate-making needs. Lotsa free space to spread long sheets of paper and other materials!

DSC_0220

DSC_0221

I like that the Fashion Marketing and Management rooms are very minimal. Tables + projector + mood board. Yes, marketers DO need mood boards! I second that!

DSC_0222

DSC_0223

In the middle of our tour, Interior Design lecturer Mr. Lee Miles showed up and talked with us for a little while. He has a fancy accent and a really interesting sense of fashion (PEG!) I love it when men wear blazers over their shirts. Faux hipster, a really classy one, if you ask me :P

DSC_0225Sewing room

DSC_0228They have a MAC ROOM! Yes, MAC, separate from a PC room. LOVE. Just pure love.

DSC_0229Some works by students at visual communication

DSC_0231I took this photo because I wanna learn how to draw. Eventually, I hope I will

I’d like to show the room for Visual Communication, but I guess all I need to say is to imagine a blank space. Very conducive for those students, I think, because they need their tabula rasa!

DSC_0233

Before the tour ended, Fashion Design Professor Dr. Janet Emmanuel came to have a little chat with us. She shared how she is amazed at how blogging has mobilized marketing through social media in the country. I agree, Ma’am! If it weren’t for blogging, I may not have a job now. LOL! But seriously! I am also flattered at how she acknowledged at how I managed blogging while I am a registered nurse. She’s such a sweet and happy person :D

IMG_7912 copy

IMG_7914 copyF&H black v-neck, Thrifted blazer, Oxygen reversible jeans, Thrifted military boots, Punchdrunk Panda camera strap | Outfit photo by Miko Carreon

Haha! Did you notice that I look a little pandak when I’m wearing a lot of dark colors? Taking a note on that! Anyhow, it was a lovely morning to spend at Raffles! I am really privileged to be invited to tour around it! I love it. Even the programs, they’re very organized and aligned to international standards. I hope more and more internationally competitive universities, colleges, and institutes come here and invest for the Filipinos and our education.

I even see myself being enrolled in Fashion Marketing and Management… Hmmmm, we will see. We WILL see about that :P

* We were really late (Erika and I) but we also attended the WGSN trend forecasting for Summer-Spring 2012. I found a lot of familiar and new takes on some aesthetics. I’m so excited for Summer! Are you? If you are, then visit WGSN and learn about 50’s revival, tribal artisan, acquatic, and an upcoming Olympic-inspired trend!

* Also, Raffles Education in other countries does  not only focus on design. There are a lot of courses available, and you may look at it here.

Raffles Design Institue – Manila
Units 18-01/19-00 Accralaw Tower
30th Street, Crescent Park West
Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City
+632 846-2888
rdi-manila@raffles-design-institute.com

2 responses to “Raffles Design Institute – Manila

  1. Thanks your site is very informative for us.
    graphic design institute

Leave a Reply

