Bakit nga ba sa septic tank?!

Last night I was able to watch Ang Babae sa Septic Tank though it was very, very late (at 10:20 pm.) Hanna and I were probably telling too much stories, so we forgot to check the movies first. We haven’t seen each other since she left for Singapore, and I didn’t want to settle waiting for her blog, ’cause she really tells stories in a very animated way. Plus, she gave me a copy of the July issue of August Man (how sweet, awwwwww) Thank you, Hanna!

Anyway. Ang Babae sa Septic Tank was one of the topnotchers from this year’s Cinemalaya, and I wasn’t able to catch it in the film festival. The lines were long, and the tickets were scarce, I’m just glad they released it in the mainstream cinemas. I think this is a good move (as opposed to some views that the ‘indie’ is going mainstream) since independent productions are running on their own budget with whatever restrictions this may implicate them. This is a huge exposure for them and this can help them immensely. Not only them, but the whole industry. Imagine indie productions entering the mainstream cinema. It’s a dream actually.

Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank Poster by JP CuisonMovie poster by JP Cuison

While “Septic Tank,” as most would refer to it, is highly acclaimed, I still do have confusion on some elements (WARNING: a few spoilers ahead of this line):

  • Is Jocelyn mute? She can hear though.
  • Eugene Domingo was acting as herself (or at least, her namesake) Is it fine to veer away the acting apart from herself too?
  • Who is the director they want to point out? C’mon that cannot go out without reference.
  • Isn’t the Payatas people misrepresented by the carnapping scene? I think it’s too exaggerated.
  • Is it really necessary to include steamy scenes of Rainier (Kean Cipriano) and Bingbong (JM de Guzman)? Not that I don’t appreciate it :P
  • So if it is necessary, why is Jocelyn left out with no steamy scene?
  • The septic tank plays a very short role in the film, so why the title? And…
  • Bakit nga ba sa septic tank?

I won’t argue with the symbolism there, though. Above my questions, I did enjoy the film. Kudos to its team for winning Best Screenplay, Audience Choice, Best Performance for an actress, Best Director, and Best Picture. 

I hope it does go to different Film Festivals (pun intended.)

Leave a Reply

