Beyond Blogging


Again, if you have been following me in Twitter, you might have known that I attended the 4th Philippine Blog Awards. No, I’m not nominated, though I really wished (!) I knew it through #SentiSabado fame, Tonyo Cruz:

http://twitter.com/tonyocruz/status/12351951219986432

It was held in the Carlos P. Romulo Auditorium in RCBC Plaza at the heart of the Makati CBD. Registration started at 6pm and food and drinks we’re overflowing. Pasta, pizza and pica pica is courtesy of Angel’s Catering, and blogger’s best friend caffeine fix by Figaro.

I met up with Tonyo before the ceremonies began. Had some chit chat. Met also @pinoygossipboy who is instantly escalating the pop meter (aside from being this year’s finalist for Best Entertainment Blog) after Cristine Reyes’ and Sarah Geronimo’s clash. Also, I met Yahoo’s @ederic and some other cool bloggers! It’s my first time to see the Filipino blogging community unite!

Ang labo ng kuha ni Kuya Photog

Pardon the bad photoblogger that I am. Super tamad to take photos during the event. Calling the forces of the universe kasi for a dSLR na! Teehee! However, I was tweetveraging so I had to have Twitpics!

Taken from the Balcony area

Anyway. Gabe Mercado‘s hosting this year’s awards night! Ain’t he the funniest person?! Okay ka pa ba tyan? He appeared in pajamas and humongous bedroom slippers. It turned to an instant comedy bar inside the audi. Undersecretary Manuel Quezon III, a blogger-turned-government-personality delivered the keynote speech addressing the up and down trends of bloggers. Past winners, blog authorities, and officials of the PBA presented the awards that night.

Kudos to y’all!

Well, obviously, I was busy the whole time tweeting who the winners are. But I’m glad to be of service, to my followers and occasional guests, to bring you the 2010 Philippine Blog Awards Winners!

MAIN AWARDS

Best Blog in Advocacy Category – Web Safety Philippines by Sonnie Santos
Best Blog in Beauty and Lifestyle Category – The Reluctant Stylista by Alexandra Lapa
Best Blog in Business Category – Ready to be Rich by Fitz Villafuerte
Best Blog in Culture and Arts – Anik-anik Love by Mitch Mauricio
Best Blog in Entertainment Category – Without Wang2 by Nickie Wang
Best Blog in Food and Beverage Category – Happy Foodies by Ferdz Decena
Best Blog in Gaming Category – Back 2 Gaming by B2Gamers
Best Blog in Hobby and Recreation – Back 2 Gaming by B2Gamers
Best Blog in Home and Parenting Category – iMom by Chats Siao
Best Blog in Humor Category – The Professional Heckler by Loi Reyes Landicho
Best Blog in Lifestyle – The Creative Dork by Robbie Bautista
Best Blog in Literature / Literary Category – City Buoy by Nyl Lim
Best Blog in Personal/Diary Category – Yoshke.com by Yoshke Dimen
Best Photoblog – Gerryruiz Photoblog by Gerry Ruiz
Best Blog in Social, Politics and History – The Pro Pinoy Project by The Pro Pinoy Project
Best Blog in Sports – Filipino Boxing Journal by Kenneth Ragpala
Best Blog in Technology Category – My Silly Point of View by Richard D. Feraro
Best Blog in Travel Cateogry – Just Wandering by Nina Fuentes
Best Blog in Video and Podcasts – Pinoy How To by Buddy and Yael Gancenia

SPECIAL AWARDS

Best Blog Design – The Reluctant Stylista
Bloggers’ Choice Award – CHKSLG
Readers’ Choice Award – Green Archers
Best Filipiniana Blog – My Sarisari Store
Top Blog Post for 2010 – Do They Read Blogs in Heaven? by Yoshke.com

Top Posts for 2010
EXCLUSIVE: GMA Breaks Her Silence by the Professional Heckler
Sometimes We Are Lost by I am Fickle Cattle.
Fireworks, Hormones and this Blog Post by Yoshke.com

Top Photo Posts for 2010
A Solo Traveler’s Photo Story of Backpacking in Palawan by Ambot Ah!
Pahiyas Festival by Biyaheng Pinoy

Top Video Posts and Podcasts for 2010
Krimmy Couple: Of Bad Words and Saranghae by My Korean Boyfriend
Podcast 6: Being Friends with the Ex by Ria Jose
Krimmy Couple: The Korean Eats Balut by My Korean Boyfriend

(Source)

This photo is taken for @patringsanjose who has a crush on Yoshke. He won three awards in ONE NIGHT!

The Professional Heckler who won two awards on that night, and three years of winning. Hall-of-famer!

This year, many awards were added to an already comprehensive roster of awards, take for an example the Top Posts, Vidcasts, and Podcasts award. If you want to see who made it as finalists for this year, check this out.

Giving away prizes…

Cerebral Orgasm

The event was well full of bloggers of all kind, ranging from personal to business to advocacy bloggers. PhBA proved to be an institution even only in four years existence. After the awarding ceremonies, several bloggers remained for raffle (read: Nokia X3, Kota Kinabalu, and Beijing.) Apparently I’m never lucky in that kind of things. Host and PhBA co-founder Jayvee Fernandez is roll calling, and he’s just cute like that!

Kapitalista. What I wore.

Obligatory Outfit Post

I feel welcomed by these people who are well-established in the Philippine blogging scene. Some of which are even earning through the interwebs. One thing though is that they stay humble, even the number of awards they won, number of mentions in media, number of followers that consume their stuff, and some, number of dollars they earn. Not only I learned that Philippines has a good foundation in the blogosphere, but I learned also that I can actually be friends with these people on and off the line.

Channeling John Lennon. I now know where to buy these! Thanks to I-don’t-remember-his-name, my new blogger friend!

Thanks to Kuya Tonyo for introducing me to several people that night, made a lot of friends indeed. And I hope to see y’all again. I want to announce that some of the bloggers are holding an informal event on the 15th Monito Monito Tweetup. Everyone is encouraged to attend, meet old and new friends, bring two gifts – one for a fun exchange gift, and another for the PGH Pediatric Cancer Ward, and be in the spirit of giving.

Let’s all be in the true spirit of Christmas this Holiday Season. Advance Merry Christmas and happy blogging to us all!

 

6 responses to “Beyond Blogging

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere. :)

    Hope I can attend the PBA next year.

  2. Good day I was fortunate to look for your topic in baidu
    your Topics is brilliant
    I learn a lot in your Topics really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you site is really fabulous
    where can find it

  3. There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made sure good points in features also.

  4. It is best to take part in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I will advocate this website!

  5. Pingback: The Quarterly Jonver Report | Where is Jonver??

Leave a Reply

