Touchdown Manila Design Week 2010!

I really never had any plans to go to Manila Design Week (MDW) at any day. 1.) I am not an artist, (literary, if that counts here) an appreciator may be appropriate; 2.) I have no one to go with; 3.) My academic schedule has been drilling holes in my skull for the past few months now, so yeah, it was not in the plan.


Manila Design Week Stage



When my good graphic artist friend, Pate caught me on Facebook and made aya in a random post, and we are off to MDW in Cubao X. This is the last stint MDW held, so I decided (finally) to go. Hanna, my classmate and Pate’s high school chum, didn’t go. And yes, we wish you were there Hanna.

One of the art galleries in Cubao X

So after a very light schoolwork, and some hangout @ SM San Lazaro with cosplayer friends, I headed straight to Gateway to wait for Pate and Louis. I shall reinstate that Hanna should be there. Hahaha. Anyway, I arrived so early I roamed around Gateway and found some UAAP stuff my wallet can’t wait to shed moolah to buy. [I hate that I can’t take pictures of those. They weren’t in the display as well, so yeah head to the mall to see ’em.] Nike is the new sponsor of *selected* UAAP apparel. Last year Adidas endorsed Ateneo and La Salle which launched a thousand anti-elitist comments. I can’t summon any comment though when I saw FEU and Ateneo on NIke’s display tarp. I think this is based on the predictions that the two powerhouse teams will meet in the Finals (FEU as of the moment is in top, AdU on second, and Ateneo on third.) What’s surprising though is that FEU has endorsements this year. I never knew any UAAP endorsements for my school, not until now. And for my bias, it’s pitted against Ateneo. Way to go, I guess? LOLz.


Me in my Ateneo Jacket in their bball battle against DLSU
I think we were in the La Salle side, when I shouted GO ATENEO!

I wonder what happened to the age-old rivalry – Ateneo v La Salle. On the other hand, La Salle is still endorsed by Adidas, having their centennial very near. More suprisingly, San Beda is also endorsed not only by Nike, but by Adidas also. Well, it’s not UAAP though. 

Up to the cinema level, Inception is still showing. And I’m pissed to the gut still not having watched it. 1.) Thesis; 2.) Humanities Exemption Project; 3.) Duty; and 4.) Broke. Of all the four reasons stated, I sooooooo hate the fourth. I should find a part-time job pronto. Pate told me to watch it in the movie house, aghast at the fact I am resorting to downloading it. There were no piracy issues brought up though, just aesthetic and moviewatching experiences.


Geez, it was shown last Summer on other parts of the globe
 

I waited for them at Taco Bell after eating at KFC *glutton!* Pate arrived earliest, followed by Luis, her another graphic artist friend, and Louis last. Louis looked like sabog, but nevertheless arrived. Peace! I’m glad I’m not the only nurse to go here (plus spotting people in clinical uniforms.) But I’m not in uniform, ang chaka naman kasi, LOLz.

Actually the rendezvous calls for a heart emergency, being that Louis’ heart. Peace again dude! Good thing alcohol kinda cures all things. Kinda. Too much alcohol – not good! So Louis and I took a stroll around the Cubao X to talk it off. Pate and Luis hit the stage for the performances.

The place was jampacked. Not the usual Cubao X night. If Cubao X was a bottle of beer, it looks like a slightly shaken bottle of booze, opened then carbonated bubbles oozing from it. I can’t even go near Mogwai for Mojitos. And yes, I will bet my one month allowance money that they ran out of it.


MDW crowd
 

Mogwai, please stock up on your Mojitos please :|

The place, aside from jampacked of people, is flooding of stalls. Graphic artist after graphic artist after graphic artist. One of those we particularly went in was Manila Sound Vision in THE Clothing (I think. Haha, I wasn’t particular of the store.) It exhibits different (and weird) album cover arts. It’s where the mini-street party was held.

 

The cover art we loved most (above) and the cover art that blew our minds off (below)

 
 
I didn’t mind to take so many pictures that night. I was hoping I can catch Up Dharma Down play that night. My ears wanted to hear them sing Tadhana live. But we missed Armi and the band play. They were finishing their last song when we arrived at the place. Imago was in the house, and they play this new song that I missed the title. Older songs were also played. A couple of indie bands also played. I missed their name. I was so consumed at the thought I missed the one band I hoped to play that night. There were hearsays that Sandwich and Urbandub’s gonna play, but I’m too groggy to watch since it was past 2am already.
 
I really wished I saw them play :|

 

Imago on stage

More Imago

 
 
Didn’t catch the name of this band. But the male vocals looks like Champ of Hale :)


And I can swear that she looks like Rep. Gloria Arroyo a.k.a. REGLA

Til next year, Manila Design Week!
 
 
My friend Pate told me there are a few events in Cubao X being that this 21st (I think) and September 4 (this I’m sure she told me.) See y’all there!
Leave a Reply

